Jyeshtha Month: Date, Importance And Major Muhurtas You Need To Know


Vat Savitri will fall on Thursday, June 6.

Vat Savitri will fall on Thursday, June 6.

Dr. Ganesh Mishra, astrologer of Puri’s Central Sanskrit University shared the important dates of major festivals and fasts.

As per the Hindi calendar, Jyeshtha – the third month – is going to begin in a few days. It generally falls after the completion of Baisakh Purnima. Jyeshtha month is also called Jeth. During this month, the temperature soars up and the blazing heat often leads to heat stroke during this time. The month begins on Pratipada tithi of Krishna Paksha and ends on Jyeshtha Shukla Purnima Tithi. During this time, many important festivals are celebrated and fasts are observed.

Dr. Ganesh Mishra, Astrologer of Central Sanskrit University, Puri shared the important dates of major festivals and fasts. As per the Vedic calendar, Pratipada Tithi of Krishna Paksha of Jyeshtha month will begin on May 23 at 07:22 pm. But as per Udaya tithi, the Jyeshtha month will begin on May 24. It will end on June 21 on the day of Jyeshtha Purnima.

Major fasts and festivals of Jyeshtha month 2024 are-

May 24, Friday: Jyeshtha month starts, Jyeshtha Krishna Pratipada Tithi

May 26, Sunday: Ekdant Sankashti Chaturthi

June 2, Sunday: Apara Ekadashi

June 3, Monday: Vaishnav Apara Ekadashi

June 4, Tuesday: Bhaum Pradosh Vrat, Monthly Shivratri

June 6, Thursday: Jyeshtha Amavasya, Vat Savitri Vrat, Shani Jayanti, Shani Janmotsav

June 10, Monday: Vinayak Chaturthi

June 14, Friday: Dhumavati Jayanti

June 15, Saturday: Mithun Sankranti, Mahesh Navami

June 16, Sunday: Ganga Dussehra

June 17, Monday: Gayatri Jayanti

June 18, Tuesday: Nirjala Ekadashi

June 19, Wednesday: Budh Pradosh Vrat

June 21, Friday: Jyeshtha Purnima Vrat, Vat Purnima Vrat

June 22, Saturday: Jyeshtha Purnima

One of the most important days and fasts of Jyesththa month is Vat Savitri, which will fall on Thursday, June 6. Vat Savitri Vrat is observed by married women for the long life of their husbands and a happy married life. As per the traditions, people worship Goddess Savitri and the Banyan tree on this day.

Another major festival during this month is Shani Jayanti. It is believed that Shani Dev was born on the day of Baisakh Amavasya and hence, Shani Jayanti is celebrated on this day. He is the son of the Hindu Sun God- Surya and Chhaya, the goddess of shade. This year Shani Jayanti is also on 6th June.



Source link

Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.